Fun morning at Montezuma Audubon Center

My Endurance group ventured over to the Montezuma Audubon Center this morning. We met with Nature Chris who taught the students about topographic maps and compass use. After our classroom session in their beautiful building, the students went outside and tried their hand at surviving in the Montezuma area using a map and compass to navigate from one location to the next. What a wonderful place to visit! The refuge has about 50,000 acres of land with ponds, lakes, wetlands, marshes, and tons of animals. I would love to go back and visit in the summer when all of the wild black raspberries are ready to enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 2.27.02 PM

About bguzzetta

I am a middle school math and science teacher at Allendale Columbia School. Technology and the outdoors are integral parts of my curriculum. I love outdoor activities, which I enjoy with my family. I have always felt that students should be exposed to global research, and am very excited to be bringing this to my students with the support of school. Therefore, I have embarked on a journey that includes a collaboration between myself, the Seneca Park Zoo, the Smithsonian Institute, and National Geographic's photographer David Liittschwager. Sports have always been part of my life, and I am the current Girls Vice President for the Rochester District Youth Soccer League.
This entry was posted in Eighth Grade, Middle School, Pictures, Seventh Grade, Sixth Grade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

