Fun at Ganondagan and Ward’s Science!

Allendale Columbia School seventh grade students went to Ganondagan and Ward’s Science, on Thursday, May 9th. The weather was beautiful and the experts at each facility were amazing!


At Ganondagan the students learned about Native American history, traditions, and customs from Mike and Tonia Galban. Their lesson was held on the “white hill” and in the bark longhouse. The students were even able to try their hand at shooting a bow and arrow at a moving target.


At Wards Science the students learned about and held  many animals, learned about rocks, began their own rock collection by choosing five rocks form a huge sample, and learned about slides and preserved specimens. Thanks to Shahana and Karen for being our guides at Wards. It was an amazing day for everyone! We are very lucky to have two fantastic places so close to our wonderful school.

Quote of the day: Karen at Ward’s asks, “Why is Allendale Columbia the best school?” One of our awesome students responds, “They are accepting of everyone.”  Just one more reason why I love my students!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About bguzzetta

I am a middle school math and science teacher at Allendale Columbia School. Technology and the outdoors are integral parts of my curriculum. I love outdoor activities, which I enjoy with my family. I have always felt that students should be exposed to global research, and am very excited to be bringing this to my students with the support of school. Therefore, I have embarked on a journey that includes a collaboration between myself, the Seneca Park Zoo, the Smithsonian Institute, and National Geographic's photographer David Liittschwager. Sports have always been part of my life, and I am the current Girls Vice President for the Rochester District Youth Soccer League.
This entry was posted in Middle School, Pictures, Seventh Grade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun at Ganondagan and Ward’s Science!

Leave a Reply

