Tasting Raw Sap

The days were warm and the nights were cold.  Perfect weather for the sap to start running! In just four days we collected over five gallons of sap from the one tree that we tapped to monitor. The students boiled the sap to make sure any bacteria that might be present was killed. Once it cooled back down the students tasted the raw sap. To their surprise it looked like water and tasted like sugar water and not maple syrup. They were all shocked! We are now looking forward to coming back from February break and tapping the thirty trees that we have flagged. If the weather cooperates, we will collect over two-hundred gallons in no time at all. We will have a big celebration once this happens and we begin to evaporate most of the water to make syrup.  Stay tuned for updates on our progress.

About bguzzetta

I am a middle school math and science teacher at Allendale Columbia School. Technology and the outdoors are integral parts of my curriculum. I love outdoor activities, which I enjoy with my family. I have always felt that students should be exposed to global research, and am very excited to be bringing this to my students with the support of school. Therefore, I have embarked on a journey that includes a collaboration between myself, the Seneca Park Zoo, the Smithsonian Institute, and National Geographic's photographer David Liittschwager. Sports have always been part of my life, and I am the current Girls Vice President for the Rochester District Youth Soccer League.
Video | This entry was posted in Eighth Grade, Seventh Grade, Sixth Grade, Video Clips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tasting Raw Sap

  1. Steve melcher says:

    Great job Quinn!

Leave a Reply

